Member Services Representatives unavailable May 27

Our member services representatives will not be available Monday, May 27, due to the holiday.

Show More
  • September 21, 2012

North Dakota health care providers that are transforming quality and care to be honored

BCBSND and North Dakota Department of Health to recognize innovative health facilities that put patients at the center of care

FARGO — Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Dakota (BCBSND) and the North Dakota Department of Health will recognize health care facilities that are transforming health care in North Dakota during the first annual Innovation in Health Care Awards luncheon on Tuesday, September 25, at the Ramada Plaza Suites in Fargo.

The awards will recognize facilities that are using BCBSND's MediQHome program to lower costs and boost quality in innovative ways. MediQHome is a collaborative effort between patients, the state's medical providers and BCBSND to improve quality outcomes for patients and rein in rising health care costs. MediQHome is a flexible patient-centered medical home (PCMH) that focuses on common chronic conditions that are costly to treat. More than 70 percent of the state's medical providers participate in MediQHome.

Awards will be presented in the following categories:

  • Honorable Innovator
  • Distinctive Innovator
  • BOLD Innovator

Lt. Gov. Drew Wrigley will join BCBSND President and CEO Paul von Ebers and North Dakota State Health Officer Dr. Terry Dwelle in recognizing innovation.

Dr. Paul Grundy, who has been dubbed the "godfather" of the patient-centered medical home, will speak about the groundbreaking work between BCBSND and the state's health care providers to put patients at the center of health care. He has extolled MediQHome nationwide, but this will mark the first time Grundy will speak about the program in North Dakota. Grundy is the global director of health care transformation at IBM and a sought-after expert on patient-centered medical homes.

The awards are jointly sponsored by BCBSND and the North Dakota Department of Health.